Secular

Words and Faith #1

secular

One of the things that drew me back to poetry was the realisation that many of the prayers that I was writing as a Methodist Local Preacher were really spoken poetry in composition and style. Clearly, something inside was trying to get out. I’d had a lot of positive feedback about them too, which was encouraging.

I don’t write as much poetry about my faith as I think I should do though. My faith is right at the centre of what I feel about social justice, caring about others, morality and ethics, so it is in there, but not explicitly. I’m trying to change this. My opinion is that if something moves you, cuts deep into the heart of you, then you should write about it. And share it, of course, inside the church and outside too.

I wrote this about faith and society. It’s pretty self explanatory. I cobbled together a performance video of it as well, which is here.

Leave a Reply

